Skip to content

Blunt & Hawley’s Resolution Congratulating NWMSU Bearcats Passes Senate

April 26, 2021

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senators Roy Blunt (Mo.) and Josh Hawley (Mo.) announced that the Senate unanimously approved a resolution honoring the Northwest Missouri State University (NWMSU) men's basketball team for winning its second-consecutive NCAA Division II national championship and third in the last five years.

“Through hard work and determination, the Bearcats are once again national champions,” said Blunt. “They finished another incredible season with a blow-out win in the national championship. Congratulations to the players, coaches, staff, and fans on this great achievement.”

“Congratulations to the 2021 men’s NWMSU Bearcats on their championship win! Their teamwork, discipline and dedication deserve to be celebrated,” said Hawley. “The entire Northwest Missouri State University community should be proud of the team’s accomplishments.”

The NWMSU Bearcats defeated the West Texas A&M University Buffaloes by 80-54 in the 2021 DII men's basketball championship in March. For the fourth time in the last five years, Bearcats Head Coach Ben McCollum was selected as the 2021 National Association of Basketball Coaches Division II Coach of the Year.

The Bearcats won the NCAA Division II national championships in 2017 and 2019.

Click here to read the resolution.

Next Article » « Previous Article