Skip to content

Blunt Backs Resolution Opposing Lifting of Iran Sanctions

February 25, 2021

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (Mo.), a member of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, joined U.S. Senator Tom Cotton (Ark.), U.S. Representative Mike Gallagher (Wis.), and 43 other members of Congress in introducing a resolution opposing the lifting of sanctions on Iran. The members released the following statement after introduction:

"The U.S. must maintain sanctions on the Iranian regime until it abandons its nuclear ambitions and ends its support for violence and terror around the region. Iran took advantage of weak policies during the Obama Administration, and President Biden must not repeat those same mistakes."

Blunt has previously supported legislation to extend and expand sanctions on the Iranian regime. He opposed the Obama administration's nuclear deal with Iran, which provided $100 billion in sanctions relief while the Iranian regime continued pursuing a nuclear capability, violating multiple legally-binding arms embargoes, and supporting terrorist activities targeting the United States and our allies.  

Cosigners of the resolution include: U.S. Senators John Barrasso (Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.), John Boozman (Ark.), John Cornyn (Texas), Kevin Cramer (N.D.), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Ted Cruz (Texas), Steve Daines (Mont.), Bill Hagerty (Tenn.), Josh Hawley (Mo.), John Hoeven (N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (Miss.), Jim Inhofe (Okla.), James Lankford (Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.), Roger Marshall (Kan.), Mike Rounds (S.D.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Ben Sasse (Neb.), Dan Sullivan (Alaska), John Thune (S.D.), Thom Tillis (N.C.), Tommy Tuberville (Ala.), Todd Young (Ind.), and 20 members of the House of Representatives.

Next Article » « Previous Article