Skip to content

Blunt Helps Introduce Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act

January 27, 2021

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (Mo.) joined 43 of his Senate colleagues in introducing the Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act. The legislation, which is led by U.S. Senator Lindsey Graham (S.C.), would provide common-sense protections for unborn children at 20 weeks after fertilization, a point at which there is significant scientific evidence that abortion inflicts tremendous pain on the unborn. 

“There should be no question as to whether pain-capable unborn children should be protected by federal law,” said Blunt. “The majority of Americans believe elective abortion after 20 weeks should be banned. And, our nation is one of only seven in the world to allow it, including China and North Korea. I will continue standing for life and giving a voice to the voiceless.”

At the age of 20 weeks post-fertilization, scientific evidence tells us an unborn child can feel pain. Anesthesia is administered directly to the unborn child in second-trimester fetal surgery. The unborn child shows physical, chemical, brain, and stress responses demonstrating pain at this stage of development.

In addition to Blunt and Graham, the bill was introduced by U.S. Senators John Barrasso (Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.), John Boozman (Ark.), Mike Braun (Ind.), John Cornyn (Texas), Tom Cotton (Ark.), Kevin Cramer (N.D.), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Ted Cruz (Texas), Steve Daines (Mont.), Joni Ernst (Iowa), Deb Fischer (Neb.), Chuck Grassley (Iowa), Bill Hagerty (Tenn.), Josh Hawley (Mo.), John Hoeven (N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (Miss.), James Inhofe (Okla.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), John Kennedy (La.), James Lankford (Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.), Roger Marshall (Kan.), Mitch McConnell (Ky.), Jerry Moran (Kan.), Rand Paul (Ky.), Rob Portman (Ohio), James Risch (Idaho), Mitt Romney (Utah), Mike Rounds (S.D.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Ben Sasse (Neb.), Rick Scott (Fla.), Tim Scott (S.C.), Richard Shelby (Ala.), Dan Sullivan (Alaska), John Thune (S.D.), Thom Tillis (N.C.), Pat Toomey (Pa.), Tommy Tuberville (Ala.), Roger Wicker (Miss.), and Todd Young (Ind.).

Next Article » « Previous Article